Last night- I was 4

Brent and I had an agenda last night…go to my mom and dad’s then to my brother’s house.  I followed the agenda, but instead of going to Jer & Amber’s to spend the night getting the venison packaged….I spent the evening playing, goofing around, screaming, singing, playing games and having some serious fun.

You see my 2 nieces, Kenna (age 5) and Paytee (age 2) hadn’t seen me in a while.  Apparently they were just as excited as I was, cause I didn’t even get in the door all the way and both came RUNNING up the stairs and jumped into my arms.  They love me, and I don’t blame them…I’m a pretty cool aunt!  I had 2 little munchkins hanging on me and asking questions.  Payton told Kenna to turn on the radio, and when she did their favorite song was blaring in the kitchen,  loud enough to hear throughout the house.  We all sang “1,2,3, like a bird I sing, cuz you’ve given me the most beautiful set of wings.  I’m so glad you’re here today, cuz tomorrow I might have to go and fly away…” They’d crawl into my arms and we’d spin and jump and dance.  It was fun.  When the song was over we returned the living room couch.  Kenna unbuttoned her shirt, like the boys do…I stripped some layers off and we all tried to chill.  Paytee just kept on going, until she was sweating. 

As I was sitting on the couch catching my breath, Paytee jumped up on my shoulders landing on my head, when I asked “Payton, what are you doing?”

She replied, “I’m a monkey” in the most enthusiastic voice.  Then she proudly requested, “I want to sit on your shoulders” when I placed her up there and stood up, she quickly paniced and said, “Woah, Heidi, I’m scared, I’m really scared.” So I dropped her down into her arms.  Both of the girls giggled and laughed so hard for minutes straight our bellies and cheeks were sore. 

We headed downstairs to see what mom and gang were up too (since I still hadn’t made it down there). I laid on the floor, and we all gave zurbers to each other (making farting noises on each others bellies).  That somehow progressed into push-up contests, which my brother Jeremy won with a breathless 36, Kenna trailed with 3 sets of 7.  Payton told me “that’s enough Heidi” after 10, and Amber beat her previous record setting her new personal best at 5.

Somehow we all wound down and ended the evening curled up in front of the fire.  I drew on Kenna’s back as we listed all the things we were going to do for her special day with aunt Heidi.  (You know all the really important things like make art projects, going to see the cats and dogs in the pet stores, going and playing in the balls at Burger King, bake banana bread and an apple pie, and have supper at Gma Kathy’s).  Meanwhile, Payton laid in her mothers lap asking her to “pet my belly.” Both the girls  ended the evening sound asleep in our arms.

I too came home and fell fast asleep, as that spontaneous play and fun had tuckered me right out.  I can’t wait for the holidays to continue to play and be 4 years old! It truly was one of the most enjoyable evenings EVER!  And I slept like a rock.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

