The list of possibilities

“it’s going to be a good year” I’ve repeated many times in the short 2 days of 2008. 

I came into the new year rocking out to Guitar Hero III, how can anything top that! Sad to say I woke up with sore calves from my need to have stage presence while rocking out in a mad battle with a tunnel vision to the TV.  I was consumed with my rock star like abilities.

Yep, I was ready to close the books on 2007 and was eager to ring in the new year.  On New Year’s eve Brent and I found our spontaneous side and decided to drive 4 hours to surprise his friends already gathering to ring in the new year.  It was splendid.  So the question looms: “what is your new year’s resolution?”

I’ve been hesitant to answer, or confident in my statement. “I’m not making one.  My dreams can’t be accomplished in 1 year, it will be a life resolution.” but I must say I’m feeling like an under achiever by not having a stepping off point. So, I’m putting together a list of things that I’d like to try to accomplish by the end of 2008.

1.  Get married…well on my way to getting that accomplished.
2.  Get a house…read post below.  That WILL happen, cause we have rules!
3.  Maybe I’ll run or exercise every single day.  Because I somehow forgot how to do that, but that seems lame, cause everyone says they will exercise more as a New Year’s Resolution and I like to be original and different.
4. Make a career change….already in the works, but I just haven’t decided where I’ll end up but whatever, I’ll let life decide that.  I’m sick of thinking about it!
5.  Get a dog, complete with a house and yard.
6.  Make a home-cooked meal at least once a week for the entire year.  Brent would love me. 
7.  Pick up my clothes off the bed/floor/(any place I decide to put them other than in the dresser or on a hanger) at least once a week.
8.  Take out several weekends this year and set them aside exclusively for scrapbooking.  Thanks to mom, I have one already scheduled in April!
9.  Start a savings/investment program for retirement.  Good in theory until I’m overdrawn!
10.  Take time to write the book, that I’ve been working on for the last four years.  Perhaps have a first draft done by 2010.  I need deadlines!

So, these are my options. It’s going to be a good year.  Some of these are given, which is why they need to be on the list. I need to have the satisfaction of crossing a few things off my list at year’s end. 

1 Comment

Filed under Random thoughts

One response to “The list of possibilities

  1. Pingback: Forever & a day « Enjoying Life!

Leave a Reply

