When’s the last time you spent over $100,000?

The fiancee and I are planning our future.  A wedding.  The wedding budget is right on track at $10,000.  I’m not a super crazy bride about this whole wedding thing.  I refuse to spend that much money on 1 day of my life.  It’s  unfathomable and I just can’t do it.  In fact I’m always trying to find ways to chip off more money and put it towards something else.  Does really have to cost us $10 grand to say “i, do ” sigh  and then give kisses in front of everyone?!?

Well today, $10,000 sounds like nothing compared to what I just told the Realtor we were offering to pay for a house.  Yep, we put in an offer on a house.  I’ve done this before.  I bought a townhouse when I lived in Chicago.  I know how this works, and I know it’s an investment, but I’m still in disbelief that I uttered the words: “We are offering one hundred and ten thousand dollars.” Which, like I said in some places, that would be a down payment.  But in ho-dunk Wisconsin, that’s just how it is.  The thought of just holding that check makes me think of all the stupid things that I could get for amount. 

So curiously, I searched for what else costs that much money.  Here’s what I came up with:
A suite to the U.S.T.A. Arther Ashe Stadium (which is a little more than Boston Red Sox suites cost for 81-game season), but Arther Ashe requires suite holders to purchase an additional $24,000 in food….hmmm.  I think I’ll pass.  That sounds as exciting as watching paint dry while spening an afternoon with the houty-touty eating rice cakes.

One stock of Berkshire Hathaway, a class A stock.  My response: WTF is Berkshire Hathaway and why would I want 1 stock. Will they guarantee a 500% return?  If I wanted to invest in my future I’d start buying lottery tickets a $1 a piece.

Maybe one of these, just because I can….
Lamborghinilamborghini-2.jpg I saw these in real life, true story.  Although if I really wanted to buy one of these it might be important to have a garage to put them in, and maybe a house in the Southern California section of the universe.

But clearly all these things are just things.  A house is an investment, right?!?! ah, we’ll see.  Honestly I rather live in a tent and travel around the globe a few times, and maybe making myself a nest in the sand of a tropical beach for the winter months. But a house with walls wouldn’t be so bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

