Learning how to run again

Since this girl ran her 6th marathon last October in San Fran, She really hasn’t given the idea of running another race any thought.  ….Okay enough talking about myself in third person.

We finally were settling into our new house, life routines with a puppy have been established but the thought of working out with a quickly approaching wedding, wasn’t really a priority.  However connecting with a group of ladies (I really can’t say they are girls if they are well into womanhood can I) that I play volleyball with, also happen to run every morning and they meet just blocks from my house. 

Ooo, that could be a means of social interaction for me. I immediately accepted the invitation to run, without consulting my need for sleep.  Start time: 5:05 AM.  That was shock to my system.  However the first day I showed up we ran, we talk, and all of a sudden it was done…just like that. 

I couldn’t believe how the 3 mile stint just was done and over.  My attempts to run with the dog rarely lasted a mile before I was wanting to walk or ready to be done.  But this was like really running, with people, and it was GREAT! 

It has been just over 3 weeks now and I look forward to that 4:45 wake up Buzz (well not literally) but knowing there is a group of girls to run with makes everything so much less painful. 

I realize also that this weekend is my beloved Chicago Marathon.  I however will be frolicking in wedded bliss this weekend, hence no race…but I  truly have a bit of yearning to return and add on a few more miles.

3 Comments

Filed under 26.2

3 responses to “Learning how to run again

  1. Can’t wait to hear all about the wedding! Good lick, let go of all the stress, let everything happen, and ENJOY IT!

  2. Wow, 5 AM is SO early to get out there… but I think it would be awesome! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Oops…finding motivation to run in the cold! « Enjoying Life!

Leave a Reply

