Back to Book Club

It has been months since I posted on my latest reads…here’s a quick glimpse

Despite getting married this month and heading off on quick honeymoon number 1 today, I have managed to dive into a few books that have been laying around for a while.

#1 Eat, Pray, Love
I’ve heard you either love it or hate it….I Loved it.  I’ve posted a few things before on this book…but one quote really connected with me at the end:
“I think about the woman I have become lately, about the life that I am living, and about how much I always wanted to be this person and live this life, liberated from the farce of pretending to be anyone other than myself.  I think of everything I’ve endured before getting here and wonder if it was me- I mean, this happy and balance me, the one dozing on the deck of an Indonesian fishing boat- who pulled the other, younger, more confused and more struggling me forward during all of those hard years.” 

It reminded me of my experience with Challenge Day and the idea that “I was the Hero I’d been waiting for.”  Okay….it’s getting a little too deep here.  But back to the book…her experiences and through Eating in Italy, Praying in India, and Loving in Indonesia is an exhilarating way to learn about yourself.  I give it an A.

#2  Long Way Gone
I posted on this book before, but definitely an amazing, little bit heart wrenching memoir of a boy forced to become a child soldier in Africa.  I don’t know how to share much on this book without giving it away…I will say this, I am a huge fan of memoirs and overcoming obstacles to see that there is hope.  A+

#3 Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Our latest book read was a great exploration of historical and cultural differences of Eastern Asia.  The role women played and the things they learn as children to become “beautiful woman” in society.  I had a hard time reading some of the earlier pieces, due to some graphic descriptions of their cultural rituals….I needed to put the book down and come back later.  Once I got passed those few parts, it was good.  It follows 2 girls who become, what I would say “best friends” but that might be my cultural interpretation. I would give it a B+

#4.  90 minutes in Heaven
This is not my typical read…but it’s a man’s spiritual journey, and the miracle of prayer.  I bought this book earlier this summer as it was approaching the 1 year anniversary of the death my grandmother.  As I sat down in Barnes and Noble that day to see if it was worthy of buying, it gave me a sense of peace and reconciliation.  My grandmother was a very spiritual woman who I was very fond of.  While I’m only half way through it, I will say it has been an easy read.  It hasn’t required a lot of thinking or interpretation.  I don’t feel that I can grade it however, until I have finished the book.

It is time to head to the airport now, and I’ll just leave you by saying I grabbed 2 books of the shelf to take with me:  Dreams of my Fathers (the Barack Obama story) and The Book Thief.  I’m looking forward to many pages while awaiting the flight in and along the side of the pool with the sun beaming on my face!

1 Comment

Filed under Exploring

One response to “Back to Book Club

  1. Beth

    I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about The Book Thief. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

