Great, I have a “condition!”

So I have this Phenomenon that has been happening since…hmmas long as I can remember.  I am extremely flexible, like I could do bothkinds of splits, I can put my feet behind my head, when I do a back bend I can touch my head to my heels…I know, weird. But along with this crazy flexibility I also have this thing where my joints just slip out.  Just like that my shoulder is sitting in my chest, or I’ll be stretching out my hamstrings and oops, my hip just fell to the floor, dang!

I really began to notice the joint slippage more in high school when I was playing basketball.  When it started happening more frequently- like every game.  And right now I could do it on the left side no problem (I’d take pictures, but in the event that you have recently eaten, I’ll refrain).  The right side however, is a little more of a bitch.  So for example the day before my wedding, I was decorating the tent and Mr. Diesel decided it would be fun to come and check it out, only to have EAT all the gossamer that was graciously donated to me…so I ever so nicely put my hand on his chest and tried to push him back and get him off the bless-ed gossamer-decorating-stuff. Only…dang…that hurt.  You guessed it, right shoulder just dangling. 

Let’s skip a few details and say it’s been happening more and more lately, and last night it happened again- while having a sweet hit in our volleyball game! And the things that’s a little more sucky that the pang of pain that I feel when it first comes out, is the annoying pain for the next week when I squeal while trying to steer my car on a left hand turn, or tuck in my shirt, even brushing my teeth.  So today I decided, I will go hang out with my Doctor and see if he can humor me a bit.  (I might add when I saw a Dr. in high school, he noted I could elect to have a surgery where they shorten the tendons- the scar was hideous, or I could quit playing basketball….I quit playing basketball). 

At this point I might also want to note that I am a walking time bomb and somehow things just happen to me and I get hurt.  Like being at my mom’s company picnic and the stick to they were using to break the pinata broke and decided to hit me clear across the nose…and I was on the other end of the room where all of the pinata breaking was happening.  I also had a random nose breaking 4th of July weekend by Brent’s lovely cousin whom we JUST asked to usher at our wedding!…onward

So I get in with PA and she and I have always gotten along well (we’re both runner’s, and have a random sense of humor) either way she enters and goes”wow, your nose looks great!” (see recent injury above).  I get into the re-occurring incidents I’ve been having.  She asks if I have other joints that pop out, like my hips or knees, to which I reply…yep!

“You know that’s a condition” She states rather abruptly.

I laugh.  “No really” she jumps in.  “It’s pretty rare and most people grow out of it, but it’s a condition” at which point I’m sure my face was stuck in a nervous smirk.  “I cant remember the name of it though” Okay…so we go on talking about different things, she suggests seeing an orthopedic, and so on.  As I’m getting ready to call this appointment over she asks, “so can you put your hands flat on the floor?”

“uh-huh!”

“can you show me?” I do it.  “Wow, you said it doesn’t hurt when you pop out your left one?” 
“that’s right”
“Will you show me?” I do it.  “That’s so weird.”

Apparently I would have been a good candidate for the circus at which point she tells me, “I read a bunch of research that most of those performersend up with bad arthritis.”  Great, I think.  I wish someone would have told me that 15 years ago, I’d quit trying to win all the stupid human trick contests.

As I’m leaving the D-O, she walks me out and says she wishes she could remember the name of the condition.  “ah, just look up ‘loose joints’ online,”  Okay I figured I probably would any way!  All was well, and I was rather entertained by my visit to the Doc’s office…until now.

I googled “loose joints” and figure Mayo Clinic is a pretty reliable site.  Apparently there are several “rare conditions” I could have.  Here are my options: Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, Marfan Syndrome, or Rheumatoid arthritis.  None of these seem particularly appealing..as I read on…

  • Flexible joints that extend beyond the normal range of movement
  • Dislocations of your shoulder, knee, fingers, hip, wrist and collarbone…hmm didn’t realize wrists and collarbones could dislocate.
  • Noncancerous fibrous growths on pressure areas, such as elbows and knees; fatty growths on the shins and forearms
  • Heart problems, such as mitral valve prolapse, aortic root dilatation and spontaneous rupture of large arteries …”great!”
  • Family history of ruptured uterus, colon or brain aneurysm

At which point I promptly closed my browser and decided to wait to see the Orthopedic…maybe I can just do some exercises or something and build some strength around those joints to keep them in place.  Better yet, I heard he’s the team doctor for our minor league baseball team, maybe he’ll hook me up with some free tickets, or something.

1 Comment

Filed under Let's talk about me!

One response to “Great, I have a “condition!”

  1. Pingback: The verdict is in! « Enjoying Life!

Leave a Reply

