Oops…finding motivation to run in the cold!

I’d like to thank the angel that suddenly decided to drop some motivation right square into my lap 🙂  I have found something that has been missing and I’m so appreciative. 

Since Monday, I have gotten back on a schedule of rising and shining at 4:40 IN THE AM…which in itself is a feat!  However, not only did I get up…I met up with my girls again for our once regularily 5:05 AM 3-mile jaunt of a run. :::Insert huge grin here:::: 

Oh the fun pre-wedding, pre-honeymoon, perfect running weather bliss days…well this week has been a bit different, but still so amazingly spectacular.

On Monday I was by my lonesome feeling all sad and lonely, however by Monday night I had convince the girls it was time to get back to our regularly scheduled program.  We created a game plan and by Wednesday morning we were back in action with 5″ of snow.  Yes my friends, it was so amazingly wonderful having the snow ridden streets filled with bright and shining little crystals. The occasional car that drove passed kind of pissed us off since we were running clear in the middle of the street and avoiding traffic meant hitting a nice little snowbank, but worthwhile none the less.  The entire course went by so fast, I was overcome with my childlike tendencies and desperately wanted to just fall back first into the fresh little fluffy stuff and make snow angels, but my partners in crime were less than thrilled about the idea.  So I trudged along without the snow angels.

I learned a few things in this wintery little journey:

A.  Running shoes are not the best paraphernalia for running in snow.  In fact those little valley areas in the heel….snow likes to pack in there nice and tight.  I had one giant snowball accumulating under my feet with each step.  It literally was the closest thing I hope I ever experience  to running in high heels. 

B. Snowy days are much warmer than we anticipate.  I was dressed perfectly in my latest cold gear Under Armor pants and spandex shorts to keep my bum warm. In addition to my new Nike cold gear shirt***and Nike dry-fit jacket.  I was PERFECT, but my homies were dowsed in sweat.

*** (THEE best gear I have ever warn in the cold…the fleece feeling interior keeps you all warm and fuzzy while the outer shell does all the technical absorption-drawing sweat-wicking-phenomenon.  It was form fitting , but not so much that all looser skin was suctioned to opposite sides of the fabric either.  Seriously you should buy 7!)

Oh yes, back to the point- I figured since I was so perfectly snuggled in my amazing gear, that it would be just as perfect the next day.  I neglected to take note of the temperature before beginning the trek on Thursday.  Hmm, somewhere between my friends driveway and the end of the first block I knew I was in for a real stifling treat ,of cold fucking air!  I’m not sure if I decided I didn’t like running in the cold by block 2 when my face and fingers went numb immediately followed by a burning sensation, or if was stopping at block six so Chris could unfreeze her eyelashes.  Unlike I she was wearing a scarf over her mouth so she could breathe, the moisture from her breathe exhaling into her scarf was freezing.  Literally I looked at her and thought we were in Antarctica.  Her eyelashes, front of her hat, top of her scarf and hair on either side of her face were covered WHITE in frost.

It wasn’t until I was pulling into my driveway, after the run, that the radio announcd a windchill of -14 degrees.  I walked into the house to see 4 degrees glaring at me on the thermometer. Note to self- check the temp before heading out for a nice little jaunt in the cold.

C.  There is a limited supply of hot water in the house.  It took many attempts at snuggling in various locations, 2 showers and 1 scorching hot bath in order to regain feeling and a live-able body temperature. 

D. Apparently pet dogs like the taste of bath water-even with bubbles added.  Hence the 2nd shower to clean my body of dog saliva- which subsequently squelched the hot water dry.

Hope you can all learn from my experience…oops.  Or just not run in the cold, but what fun is that…be adventurous- run in snow/cold!

Leave a comment

Filed under 26.2

Leave a Reply

