Book Reviews

Believe it or not I pretend to do things to make it look like I have  social life…like book clubs, although recently I haven’t been able to make the festivities, I still read the books. Here are a few the previous books leading up to our most current reads.

The Shack I don’t know that I talked at all about this one yet.  It was a pretty crazy story.  The author pretends it really happened, but then comes out to say it was all made up- why do they do that?  It’s a very interesting perspective of Christianity in a “real-life” type format.  It led several of my friends into exploring some things in their personal life.  If  I were to sum it up I’d say the take home message is really strong on forgiveness, which given the circumstances in the book it’s pretty amazing.  It had quite a few twists and turns to it…and other parts really dragged on forever!  I’d say it was pretty good …how’s that for my expert-book-reading-advise.  If I were to attach stars I’d maybe give it a 4 out of 5.

Friday Night Knitting Club– It’s  a good read, with a few “you go girl” quotes that stuck with me.  Pretty easy read, but to me I’m still amazed you can make a living off of selling yarn in New York City.  I’m just saying is all! If I were to rank it with stars, it probably get 3 1/2 out of 5.

The Christmas Sweater not one I would choose, but I went along with it.  It was very elementary and poorly written.  I like books that keep me guessing and I can’t say this one did any of that! Although I guess that’s what I get for reading some staunch conservative author’s attempt at writing for entertainment value! Hmm…maybe 1 star.

Water for Elephants,I was SOO excited to finally read this. I’d heard so many good things about this and I would completely agree.  I love the authors details and all the fun twists and turns he throws in there.  A few sections literally put a lump in my throat reared some hatred from within for  some of the bastards in the book!  There also were a few parts that got pretty hot and heavy and totally threw me for a loop, but certainly kept my interest!  I’d highly recommend it, I’d give it 5 stars!

And I think that’s all for now.  I’m quickly going to jump into 3 cups of Tea and I’m still finishing The Book Thief.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

