The Caleb Times: He comes in Peace

I have officially decided to create a category for all future Caleb posts:  The Caleb Times. Hope you don’t mind hearing Caleb’s “old news” (this post will be on week 7, he’s now 10 weeks). It usually takes me a few weeks to read the newspaper anyways!

Starting at 6 weeks I went back to work 2 days, at 7 weeks I worked up to 3 days of work…I’m holding 3 days in week 8. At 9 weeks I’ll be working 4 days per week until 12 weeks, inevitably 1-2 days a week end up being 10-12 hour days, which allows me to take some of that time back on a different day.  Thankfully I love my job and have some flexibility, so the adjustment has been better than I expected. I’ll admit I have SERIOUSLY thought about switching to part-time, since work has thrown me for a loop and the last thing I want to do is sit down at a computer and update my blog.  I digress…

Caleb has been a Mr. Busybody since about 5 weeks.  His hands are usually exploring the world around him. While I totally adore his curiosity, it makes feeding time a bit more difficult.  He has learned to put his hands up to brace “the bottle” on occasion, however usually it’s more to grab a necklace, wiggle his way out of a blanket, or to catch the handle of his Nuk and send it across the room.

Recently he’s learned to flash the Peace Sign

And while his hands found his mouth starting at birth, he now spends countless hours chewing on his fingers.  It’s not uncommon (I know double negative-so it is common) for him to have both hands in his mouth, or for him to extend his fingers while in his mouth and gag himself.  The facial expression are quite hilarious.  You’d think that unpleasant experience would render a change of action, but he’ll do it repeatedly within a half hour time setting.  Here’s an attempt at a 2 handed mouthful….

We have also noticed the amount and complexity of his expressions have changed.  He’s beginning to mimic our actions, facial expression, and respond to inflections in our voice.  He’ll hear my voice and watch me as I walk around he house.

For the first time I decided to bring Caleb to bed with me in the morning after a 5 AM feeding.  Brent and I were pretty persistent of having him sleep in his own bed each night in his own room, which with my responsive gallops is literally 2 giant steps from our bed.  I am usually a heavy sleeper, but I can hear his every coo while sleeping.  One night, Brent, Caleb and Diesel were all snoring on just a different pitch and you would’ve thought they were conspiring against me.  Strangely I find the little man snores relaxing.  While the wake up calls have been very seldom all along (He’ll maybe wake up once a night since about 2-3 weeks), when they do happen I cherish them.  I love sitting in the dark with just he and I in complete silence, bonding together without distractions from the outside world.  However going back to work put a kink in our morning routine, thus for the first time I decided to bring Caleb to bed with me in the morning after a 5 AM feeding for some added co-sleeping time.  Bed time has also been designated as cuddle time with Diesel, so going to bed and wake up times we usually allow our 4-legged child in bed with us.  Once you get all 4 of us in bed, the bed gets pretty small. (Please don’t judge me and my 5 AM appearance)

Towards the ends of his 7th week of life we added a new adventure to his life list.  We packed up the car with Caleb and Diesel in tow to make the 5-hour trek to meet the rest of the family and have one more baby shower. Diesel has yet to make a long ride with a car seat invading HIS backseat…that’s a separate post entirely.   Either way, the kids did really well.  A few more stops were required for feeding and exercise, but we did it!  Brent’s parents retired last fall and initially down-sized, but after moving in his mom recognized the little storage space she had.  In January they found “the big house” for sale just a few miles from their retirement home and scored.  So we were living large with a HUGE guest room and king sized bed, Pack-n-play and Dog bed all in one room.  The Western side of the state (family and friends) joined us on Saturday to meet the little man.  Needless to say, there wasn’t a moment that he wasn’t held all day!  Gma O couldn’t get enough of him and I bet is counting the days until Memorial Day when we do our annual camping trip.

Amazing the 5-hour trek back on Sunday went smoother than the way up.  I think everyone was a bit exhausted.  Little man managed to sneak in a few smiles between naps.

1 Comment

Filed under The Caleb Times

One response to “The Caleb Times: He comes in Peace

  1. Lisa Thiry

    That little sweater and pants outfit is darling. He’s beautiful, Heidi – thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

