An open letter to my running shoes

Dear beautiful display of running shoes,

I’ve been dreaming of you!  The other night, I envision us running a marathon with a slight breeze whisking through my hair and the rhythm of our stride keeping the beat of the latest trendy song.   And then I awoke to a screaming child ready for yet another feeding.

I recognize the weather has turned to summer and it should be time for us to reconnect, however I can’t find the motivation to formally introduce you to the pavement again!  You have been so patient waiting there for 9-months while I went on a hiatus to have a baby. Despite the sweet nothings you whisper in my ear; a nap on the couch snuggled up with my son always seems so much better than a run.  I just wanted to let you know I’ve been thinking of you often.  One of these days, you and I are going to bond again.  I’ll nestle my little toes in, lace you up, and run off to the streets to embrace a steady stride.  We’ll eventually work our way back up to racing miles…someday.

But right now, I’ll keep admiring you from afar.  I ask for your forgiveness and continued patience as I once again will pass on a run a head off to bed.  So many opportunities, so little time.

Sincerely,

Your once-motivated-now-out-of-shape-running-buddy.

Note:  I’m thinking about signing up to run the fox cities marathon in September.  But like always the motivation to sign up isn’t the problem- it’s the training that puts a slight dent into my schedule for the next 4 months that is the problem.  And seeing how running 2 miles at a 10 minute pace is enough to kill me right now, the days of running without training are out the forecast!  Anyone else interested???

Leave a comment

Filed under 26.2

Leave a Reply

