The greatest love I’ve ever known…

…turned 6 months today.  I never imagined how much my little man would consume my thoughts and emotions.  At 8:30 AM this morning I threw myself a little pity party desperately wanting to spend the day with my little man.  I overcame the temptation to rush home and scoop him up in my arms. I need to let him grow.  He’s already a pathetically cute momma’s boy, and I’m not even joking.  He could be screaming and as soon as I approach his wails turns to excitement and his arms are outstretched.  I could be in the other room talking to my mom and he’ll be all ” I know that you are in there” and poke his head about in search for his beloved!  There are times however, when I just need to take in all his emotions.  He has the most adorable face when he cries.  Unlike his cousin Keaton, you can completely predict when he’s ready to cry.  His eyes and nose get a hint of redness, his lower lip slowly curls and then he’ll exert his plea. Of course being the mom that I am, I want to make sure I have pictures of every moments, even his cries!

On the flip side there is nothing like the expression on his face when I walk into a room.  Today I went to pick him up from daycare and as soon as he heard and saw me his face lit up, grinning from ear to ear.  His legs started kicking continuously until he was in my arms.  This is typically followed by a bashful game of hiding his face and then checking to make sure I’m still there!  He continues to have the perfect personaility…or at least a very laid back!  He’s pretty content full of smiles and giggles.

Over the past few months we’ve been in a transition phase.  From breastfeeding to more and more solids…..from free flowing day to regular routines…..from falling asleep in his mom’s arms to having a specific 8 PM bed time which requires both him and mom adjust to his need to cry himself to sleep (thankfully we’re on night 3 of that and it’s down to less than 5 minutes before he calms himself).  And the most challenging for dad and I is the transition to full-time daycare.  With Brent returning to school we are no longer able to spend a few days loving up the little man!  He opted to not take on many extra jobs over the summer for the simple fact that he wanted to be a stay at home dad at least part-time.

The addition of solid foods has been somewhat entertaining.  The first few tastes of cereal brought on some goofy facial expression around 4 months, but nothing could beat the expression after taste testing some peas. Grimace, spit, Grimace again, stick out tongue and then even add a fake gagging sound for added drama! Green Beans, Sweet Potatoes, bananas and Applesauce are his all time favorites at this point.  As you can see, he stole the spoon of green beans out of my hands tonight.

last night however, eating all that food was just too much.  Caleb took a good 30 minute nap in his high-chair.  I noticed his eyelids getting heavy and an increase in turning his head from side to side- Mid stream a wide open mouth attempt to down another spoonful of applesauce, his eyes closed.  Thankfully applesauce isn’t quite as messy, so I just let him be and chipped the crustiness of his chin later!

What continues to keep me in awe is his ever-growing curiosity.  He continues to be so alert and aware of his surroundings.  Tonight during his 6-month photo shoot (or attempt) he was way more interested in the peculiar surroundings on the porch (we rarely sit out there, so he needed to check it all out!).  He’ll see something and then focus in on it and won’t stop until it’s in his hands, er mouth actually.  He’s pulled his head forward to attempt to sit up since about 3 weeks old…now he is able to support himself into a sit all by himself!

These eyes steal my heart every time.  I love you little man, more than I ever imagined possible.

1 Comment

Filed under The Caleb Times

One response to “The greatest love I’ve ever known…

  1. Oh, the crying face is adorable!!! Sometimes I think they get frustrated because they can be so cute when they cry…and they just wanna yell at you “Stop thinking this is cute! I am angry, not adorable!”

    Mine are starting Day Care next week and I am a little nervous and anxious, but also sort of looking forward to getting them into a better routine as well. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

