Handmade Gift Exchange

Thanks to the online hospitality of Linda at Craftaholics Anonymous.  I was able to participate in the Handmade Gift Exchange. Every person gets matched up with a partner and has 1 month to make a gift and send it to their partner.  There are no real rules…the door is wide open to create whatever you wish.  With that I bring you my homemade creation.

My Partner was Debbie from Ohio, who described her self as a 60-year-old who refuses to grow up.  In getting to know her she really enjoys her time with the grandkids.  So I decide to make “Grandma’s Boredom Buster.”  You may have seen ideas like this before, a jar full of ideas to fight the summer boredom blues while the kids are home from school.  I created a document (2 columns) with all sorts of arts & crafts ideas, free activities (like having a picnic in the living room), and research her local chamber of commerce for ideas of places to visit as a tourist.  I printed them all out on colored cardstock, leaving a few blank for a free-choice or to allow her grandkids to come up with a few more.

The container was an old christmas cookie tin that I rescued from the trash.  I spray painted the outside with Heritage White Rustoleum paint.  Then lined the outside with some funky ribbon and added the title to the cover.  I found that tacky glue with a dab of E-6000 worked the best to keep the ribbon on the tin.

The title was created in word with a circle shape, add a text box, print, cut out, and adhere.  I used scrapbook adhesive so it wouldn’t seep through the paper.

I also added a few homemade stamped note cards inside.  In return I received a mini-decorated-board book and bottle cap magnets, adorably wrapped in white tissue paper with a pink rosette ribbon and lime green stretchy bow

Thanks to Linda for hosting this fun little party.  I believe the next one will be in November for a fun homemade Christmas exchange!  To see all of the gifts, head to homemade gift exchange linky party to see what was sent and received!

1 Comment

Filed under Flow of Creativity

One response to “Handmade Gift Exchange

  1. Wow, your cookie tin turned out great. How fun! Amazing job and thank you so much for using Rust-Oleum to complete your project.

Leave a Reply

