Boo-tiful

After much of blog world inspiration I finally compiled a few DIY Halloween projects before the holiday struck. Thanks to the crafting chicks; Just a Girl, Craftily-Ever-After, Dejavu*crafts, The Stories of A to Z and last but certainly not least The Lettered cottage I found enough inspiration to get some projects done to my satisfaction.  I apologize I didn’t do a very good job of tracking the progress along the way.  Many of these projects were created with my family, so the time we spent together was priceless not to mention the fun I had in seeing it all come together.

It all started when I discovered The lettered Cottage and oogled over the fun details she incorporated into her fall themed mantel.  I’m a huge fan of her simple and creative approach to decor.  All that eye candy from this post (which also led me to her spring and summer mantel) also links over to Beth from AtoZ for her Mantel party where the brain chaos began.  I saw a few picture that I recalled from Just a Girl (a regular read for me). Either way….here are the results from a smorgusboard of ideas that I borrowed from the creative geniuses in blogosphere 🙂

The boa wreath was an idea I got last year from Just a girl .  It’s a straw wreath ($1.75), 3 feather boas of your choice ($4.00) and a few stick pins…best of all it doesn’t show dust.  Since I just used stick pins, I can make it fit all seasons by just changing out the color of the boas, if you really wanted to.  Simply pin one end of the boa, start wrapping the boa around the wreath.  I could have used 1 more boa and made the wreath just a little more plump.

The next was the assortment of pumpkins.  Easiest idea ever.  I can’t remember where I found the original idea from, but here is a tutorial from The Sweet Life.  I simply bought 2 1/2 yards of fun fabric ($6.00) and a 6 packs of the cheapest toilet paper around, gathered a few pieces of tissue paper (Sweet Life uses newspaper instead) sticks from the yard and wallah! I also made a few smaller ones by using a couple of baby food jars seeing how I have a few laying around…didn’t work quite as smoothly, as it needed a little coercion from the hot glue gun.  I like the different sizes though-adds some variety.

The “31,” and “eek” blocks and the “Boo” picture were little things that I created, but I’ve also seen around.  The 31 block is just a piece of scrap wood, little paint and a 31 chipboard.  I bought a collection of small easels at the thrift store (5 for $1) perfect for things like this. The Boo frame is a 50 cent frame from a thrift store, that I painted black.  I cut out some Halloween scrapbook paper (25 cents) to size and added the boo chipboard.  “eek” is a collection of the 2.  Altogether I thin these 3 signs cost maybe $1.  Oh I should mention I’m a Modge Podge junky, so that helps adhere the paper to the block and convinces the chipboard to cooperate just a wee bit more!

The Ghost lanterns are a mystery to me now.  I cannot find the idea source behind these…sorry, if you are responsible please acknowledge yourself below! I picked up a few old candle lanterns again at the thrift store.  I bought 4 so the neices and I could each have one.  Coat the inside of the globe with modge podge.  Once covered sprinkle with fine iridescent glitter (I bought a jar of 21 Gram for $2.99 at Hobby Lobby) Then on the outside of the globe take a thick sharpie marker, paint or vinyl and make 3 circles or ovals for the ghost face.  Add a tea light underneath, when you light it the entire ghost shimmers.

The last of the projects was covering plain white candles with some festive paper. The candles were $2.99 and $1.99 at Wal-Mart (although I think I could do better if I were more diligent) and the spider web paper was 25 cents at Hobby Lobby.  A bit ‘o Modge Podge and you are set.  I added an orange ribbon scrap to the larger candle just to make it pop a bit more.  You might notice some more sophisticated one from Beth or Chris!

Now I can play around for Thanksgiving a bit before Christmas explodes in my house 🙂 Happy Autumn (officially the temperatures reached 29 degrees this morning, lets hope the snow waits for just a couple more weeks)

Leave a comment

Filed under Flow of Creativity

Leave a comment